Elite League: Ipswich 81 Poole 95

This was an exciting match from the very start, Poole’s Tom Collins fell whilst leading the first heat coming down hard on his shoulder and being excluded from the re-run for causing the stoppage, Maciej Ganczarek proved too strong for the Ipswich pairing of Josh Brooke & Leon Mower in the rerun.
Heat 2 saw Ipswich’s Jamie Chittock being excluded for bringing down Poole’s Sam Hearn and a 6-3 to Poole.  The next 4 heats were all shared 5-5.  Heat 7 saw the visitors edge ahead with a 6-4 to Macin Szymanski & Aaron Morgan, heats 8&9 were both shared 5-5 and at the interval Poole lead 46-42.
The first heat after the interval saw Ipswich hit back with a 6-4,  but heat 11 Poole scored the first 7-3 of the match with Szymanski & Morgan, Poole now lead 57-51.  Heat 13 saw Ipswich drop a 7-2 with Leigh Cossey being excluded for changing the race line and young Lewis Roberts was unable to split the strong pairing of Ganczarek & Collins.
Heat 16 saw Roberts out-gate Ganczarek, lead him for 2 laps and in the end the super fast pole needed to use excessive force to get past, with him out of the re-run, the home team pulled back some of the deficit with a 6-3. The final 2 heats both went Poole’s way with a 6-4 & a 7-3.  Final score Ipswich 81 Poole 95.
Star of the Ipswich team was once again 16 year old Lewis Roberts who seems to gather more confidence with every race.


M Szynamski 20, G Galichowski 18, M Ganczarek 13, T Collins 13, A Morgan 12, S Hearn 10, O Sidwick 5, L Glover 4

L Roberts 15, R Williamson 14, J Chittock 11, L Grange 10, J Brooke 8, L Mower 8, L Cossey 8, I Grange 7

Elite Combination, Ipswich 74 Poole 60
In the combination match Poole had to give away 9 penalty points as two 1st team riders having to ride again and with Ipswich fielding 8 riders they were up against it, with both Ipswich reserves taking 3 rides apiece the home team won the mach 65-60 74-60 with the penalty added on

O Sidwick 14, L Glover 11, L Armes 10, M Nowak 9, A Smith 9, W Bristow 7

A Hill 12, C Rumbold 11, R Fellgett 9, M Hill 9, F Harris 8, W Clark 7, D Riley 5, L Jacobs 4