Suffolk Under 13s Championship

With the sun slowly setting over the Whitton raceway ,the Ipswich club prepared themselves to host this years Suffolk U13’s Individual Championship with sixteen very keen riders all with one eye on the prise of being this year champion and with current title holder Pierce Bacon unable to defend his crown it left for an very open field with a least six rider going to be in the running ,this was to prove to be the case once racing got under way with only three points separating the top five riders at the end of some pulsating racing from these young talented riders .

Heat one went to Tyler Brinkoff after getting the better of younger brother Lewis ,heat two went to the pocket rocket Sam Warner ,making the most of his grid one seeing off Evan Vincent ,heat three saw Oli Wright beating team mate Cormac Repman this all after the unlucky Jay Berry ‘s chain came off half way down the back straight on lap two and had to scoot the rest of the race only to be piped on the line by Wright thus lapping Berry . Heat four saw Stephan Farthing have the first of his two grid ones and made no mistake in the first and had to fight hard to hold off Harrison Bacon who had to settle for second from grid four .

Still feeling the effects of the last heat Farthing had to surrender to the impressive Sam Warner who took full advantage to collect his second win of the night ,heat six gave Alex Harvey his only heat win and then a second in heat nine put the Ipswich rider back in the picture but had to play second fiddle to Harrison Bacon who took heats eight and nine from his two grid one taking maximum points moving him on to eleven ,the last heat of the half gave Sam Warner his third success and the overall lead on twelve points .

Lewis Brinkhoff took the opening heat in the second half , Stephan Farthing won heats twelve and fourteen to move into a very strong position and in doing this took the second point off Tyler Brinkhoff ,heat fifteen proved to be an important heat in the contents of the meeting went Bacon who was going along quietly un notice held his nerve in beating Sam Warner and Lewis Brinkoff and also moved within touching distance of that title ,Tyler Brinkoff finish with two heat wins to finish on eighteen and had to wait to see if it would be enough to take the title ,unfortunately he had to watch in vain with firstly Bacon and then Farthing recorded crucial wins to both finish on nineteen points apiece,Brinkoff last gasp heat win in the final heat over Warner set up a run off for third place ,leaving Farthing and Bacon to go head to head in a run off for the title .

First of the two run off’s eto decide the top three saw Warner and Brinkoff with the Kesgrave rider winning the toss took the inside grid and having just previously just beaten Warner started slight favourite ,the heat got of to a cracking pace with Brinkoff out in front ,but a lapse in concentration allowed Warner to get inside him and defend his line to storm away and take the flag .

Next up were the two stand out riders of the night and fittingly it was they who had to go once again toe to toe for the crown of champion 2013 Harrison Bacon and Stephan Farthing , Harrison won the toss and as the tapes went up there was nothing to chose between them at the first bend ,Harrison held his gate and was to lead to the line with Stephan all over his every move and try as he might just couldn’t work an opening with Harrison covering all his moves and it was fitting that both riders crossed the line almost together with Harrison Bacon piping Farthing over the finish line to punch the air with great delight knowing he had a title to his name and emulating his older brother’s success twelve months before and i am sure i saw father Mike Bacon doing cart wheels on the terracing along the back straight .

Finally credit must go to all sixteen riders for an memorable nights racing and were a credit to their clubs and families alike ,the match was refereed by Dave Hill and controlled the meeting very well giving all the youngsters timeto settle at the start allowing them to enjoy a fantastic meeting ,the top ten all qualify for the East Anglian Final .

Final scores on the night .

Qualifiers for the East Anglian Championship:

1st Harrison Bacon 19, 2nd Stephan Farthing 19 after run off , 3rd Sam Warner 18 after run off . Tyler Brinkoff 18 , Lewis Brinkoff 16 , Evan Vincent 13, Oli Wright 13, Alex Harvey 13, Jake Vincent 12 , Cormac Repman 12 , Jay Berry 10 (1st res )

Non Qualifiers: Brandon Simons 9, Troy Brumpton 8, Gemma Hill 7 , Ethan Mitchell 6, Scott Balaam 6 .

Referee Dave Hill (Suffolk ) .