Eagles British U19 Team Soar to new Heights

The Ipswich Eagles U19 team travelled to Newport, Wales on Saturday 9th May 2015 looking to kick start the Club’s 2015 British Club Championship Title Defence (2012, 13, & 14) and make it a back to back Hat-Trick of British Titles at this age group. Team Manager, Les Fellgett, made only two changes to the 2014 team (Ashley Hill was an enforced change due to being too old and was replaced by 18 year old Dan Knights whilst 16 year old Ben Harvey came in as reserve in place of last years reserve, Pierce Bacon.

In a straight five team final with each rider (1-4) having four rides a piece and a possible indvidual 16 point maximum each the Eagles dominated from start to finish with the other clubs having no real answer to the speed, power and track craft shown by the Ipswich Riders.

Pick of the rides on the day came in heat 19 from Charlie Rumbold who starting on gate 4, came out of the 1st bend in last place and then proceeded to selectively weave his way past his heat competitors seemingly at will to take the heat win on the fourth lap last bend.

Brit U19

The team recored 60 ex 64 points which is the highest points tally ever at this age level using the current race formula format and is testament to the effort that the riders put in at training and is as a result of some of them them having ridden together over a 10 year period from Under 10 level.

Plaudits must also go to Team Manager Les Fellgett who seemingly gets the best out of the Clubs young riders at every event they attend having taken British titles at U10, U13, U16 and U19 under his guidence.

Congratulations to all the Riders and to Les on yet another fantastic Team performance and 25 points towards our British Club Champions Title defence.

Checkout the Video’s posted on youtube

1st half – https://youtu.be/Pp-nJZO3abs

2nd half – https://youtu.be/GKSRllosZk0


Ipswich 60
Charlie Rumbold 15; Richard Fellgett 15; Matt Hill 12; Dan Knights 11; Ben Harvey 7:

Wednesfield 43
Brendon Whetton 15; Lee Kemp 12; Hayden Rowley 9; Troy Allen 5; Harry Everiss 2:

Poole 38
Aaron Smith 11; Hayden Chant 10; Callum Albin 9; Jay Briggs 8:

Sheffield 30
Niall Morton 10; Adam Watson 9; James Bunting 6; Matt Parrott 4; Ed Morton 1:

East Park 24
Zac White 7; Jake White 6; Will Cartwright 5; Jamie Whetton 5; Liam Cartwright 1:

Referee Mr Colin Simmons